THE VILLAGE OF BANGOR-ON-DEE/ BANGOR-IS-Y-COED
Bangor-on-Dee, also known as Bangor-is-y-Coed, is a picturesque village situated in the ancient historic area of the Maelor part of Wrexham County Borough in North East Wales. The village is located in a beautiful rural area on the banks of the River Dee and in recent history has mainly been associated with agriculture, farming, salmon fishing mainly by coracle, willow beds and the craft of basketware.
In AD 180 Lucius a king of Britain was converted by the preaching of one of the Christian Fathers to the Faith. He is said to have founded the Monastery of Bangor as a seat of learning. The area was inhabited by the Britains until the Romans came and conquered it in 50 AD.
An ancient Monastery was established which was eventually destroyed by Aethelfrih King of the English in 613 AD. The medieval bridge which still remains and is currently used and believed to date back to about 1660 forms part of the historic and conservation area of the village.
The village is set in beautiful countryside, providing opportunities for walking, cycling, fishing along with good hostelries and accommodation. It also has a local racecourse holding numerous meetings throughout the year.
The Visitor Centre in St Dunawd Church contains interesting details with information on local history, supported by a selection of photographs, many donated by residents. A verbal presentation by a "Talking Monk" in both English and Welsh is located in the Visitor Centre.
We hope you will take the time to visit and enjoy our lovely village and surrounding area.